Deployment of computers for 2006 iSchool grantees

             The Commission on Information and Communications Technology (CICT) and the Human Capital Development Group (HCDG) partnered with 25 State Universities and Colleges (SUCs) around the country to open ICT development and establishment opportunities in different Public High Schools (PHS) through the iSchools Project.             

        The iSchools project envisions connecting PHS on the World Wide Web to integrate and enhance instruction with Information and Communications Technology (ICT). It will also provide trainings to teachers on sustainability planning, computer internet literacy course (CILC), web development, laboratory management, and library management. Part of the program is the provision of 20 computers with one 3-in-1 printer, one server and multimedia projector and one year free wireless Internet access to 320 Public High Schools nationwide. The national deployment of computers will start on February 6 to 16 for Luzon based PHS. The computers will be provided by Advanced Solutions, Inc., the winning bidder, and Air21 will be the courier. 

     In the recently concluded Mid-Stream Planning for iSchools at the Development Academy of the Philippines at Tagaytay, Batangas, Commissioner Angelo Timoteo M. Diaz de Rivera thanked the different SUCs for partnering with CICT. He further added that “you (partner SUCs) are part of an elite group who recognize the need for IT to be prioritized through appropriate implementation.”            

      In CAR, the Benguet State University (BSU), the Ifugao State College of Agriculture and Forestry (ISCAF), and the Apayao State College (ASC) are the SUCs tasked to monitor and provide technical support to 29 PHS.  BSU will handle 12 schools located at Benguet, Pangasinan, Quezon and Aurora. According to Ms. Flordeliza O. Naje, BSU iSchools Project Coordinator, the following high schools will be recipient of set of computers: Baguio City National High School-Main (BCNHS); BCNHS-Roxas Annex; BSU High School Division-Loo, Buguias; Calabuanan National High School; Ariston Bantog National High School; Mataas na Paaralang Juan C. Laya; Don Juan C. Macaraeg MNHS; Rosales National High School; Hondagua National High School; Lopez National High School-Comprehensive High School; and the BSU Main Laboratory. 

       Public High Schools from Isabela, Nueva Viscaya, Quirino, Mt. Province and Ifugao will be under the care of Mr. Stradivary D. Caro, ISCAF iSchools Project Coordinator. The following schools that will be serviced by ISCAF are: Isabela National High School, Caliguian National High School, Alicia National High School, Ugad High School, Kasibu National Agricultural School, Maddela Comprehensive High School, Mabaay National High School, Aguinaldo National High School, Mayoyao National High School, and ISCAF-Potia Campus. 

       On the other hand, Mr. Jomar R. Cauilan and Mr. Philip Constantine L. Mandal, ASC iSchools Project Coordinators, from the Apayao State College (ASC) will service the following PHS from Cagayan and Apayao: Itawes National Agricultural and Technical School, Enrile, Vocational High School, Piat National High School, Alcala National High School, Gattaran, National Trade School, Laboratory High Schools of ASC-Luna and Conner Campuses. // Sheryl I. Fernando, BSU-UPAO


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s